Wednesday, 21 December 2011

2012 Alberta Literary Awards Submissions Closing Soon

The WGA is now accepting submissions for the 2012 Alberta Literary Competitions!

The Alberta Literary Awards were created by the Writers Guild of Alberta in 1982 to recognize excellence in writing by Alberta authors.  Entries are judged by an independent jury recruited by the WGA.  Submissions are evaluated on originality, creativity, and quality of writing, as well as appropriate fit within a category.

Prizes of $1500 are awarded in the following categories: (Books published in 2011)
  • R. Ross Annett Award for Children's Literature (alternates yearly between picture and chapter books)
  • Georges Bugnet Award for Fiction
  • Wilfred Eggleston Award for Non-Fiction
  • Gwen Pharis Ringwood Award for Drama (published or produced)
  • Stephan G. Stephansson Award for Poetry

Prizes of $700 are awarded in the following categories:
  • Amber Bowerman Memorial Travel Writing Award (unpublished pieces)
  • James H. Gray Award for Short Nonfiction (published or unpublished pieces)
  • Howard O'Hagan Award for Short Story (published pieces)
  • Jon Whyte Memorial Essay Prize (published or unpublished essays)

The WGA is also administering the following awards for 2012:
  • The City of Calgary W.O. Mitchell Book Prize ($5000 prize)
  • The Robert Kroetsch City of Edmonton Book Prize ($10,000 prize)

Click Here for more information and for submission guidelines

No comments:

Post a Comment